hmscarth

🎉 Reputation: 155
Favorites
No favorites yet.
Lists
No lists yet.
Reviews
Thunderbolt MarineOct 22, 2018

Nice docks on Wilmington river. There is a fair bit of current but the docks are all parallel to it. The showers and laundry are both quite good. The WiFi on the docks was not working for the first few days and was slow even close to the dollhouse. The signal strength was good but both Android and Mac devices wouldn't connect. The courtesy car was available both times we wanted to use it and it was great to have.

Marina Response:
Dear hmscarth, Thank you for your positive comments. We always welcome feedback from our customers as we believe that your own experiences are the most valuable tool we have for assessing our shortcomings. We very much appreciate your input. It’s disappointing to learn that you were challenged by the WiFi. We shall investigate further to see if it is a problem for all users or solely those on Mac or Androids. Wishing you happy travels and the opportunity to serve you again if your compass is set on a course for Thunderbolt! With all good wishes, Thunderbolt Marine, Inc.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Coinjock MarinaSep 22, 2018

Great reception. Lots of space on the dock Sept. 20. The swing bridges had just opened after Florence. We had a good meal, on 16oz prime rib.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Ocean Yacht MarinaSep 12, 2018

We spent 4 nights here leading up to Hurricane Florence. The reception was good. The docks, water and power were all excellent. The marina itself was quiet but there is a lot of ship traffic going by and some noise from the shipyard across the river. There are several live aboard boats in the harbor and they are not very attractive. The main problem with the marina is the state of the washrooms, common room and laundry room. They are dirty with filthy doors, hair and dirt in all the corners on the floors, mold and a multitude of used dryer sheets on the floor of the laundry room (which my wife picked up). It wouldn't take much to clean it up. Other than that the place was acceptable.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

We have an excellent reception. There were two men to help us with the lines which worked out well. The reception at the office was excellent. Amy provided us with all the marina information required plus acted as a tour guide to Cape May. The was a WiFi repeater nearby so the reception was excellent. The bathroom and showers were the nicest I have ever seen in a marina. A minivan shuttle is available to drive people downtown, 1.2mi, as well as to other town of Cape May destinations.Our departure was delayed and the dock master was able to find us a place to stay an additional night in spite of the marina being fully booked. The "deck hands" were all very helpful. This is an excellent place to stay.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Fort Rachel MarinaAug 24, 2018

Fort Rachel Marina was a great place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Shore power was included. The showers were very clean with fresh flowers in the mens as well as the womens. It is close to the town and Mystic Seaport. They only have a few spots for transients so reserve as far ahead as possible.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

We stayed on a mooring for 4 nights. Not too much wash from passing boats. The showers were good. The WiFi internet connection wasn't very good in the vicinity of the dock house. The laundry facility was good. It is a good walk to either old town New Bedford or to Fairhaven. Fathoms is a restaurant right across the street tah has good food at a reasonable price. There is also a marine syore across the street that has most routine boating equipment and then some. It was a good stay overall.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

We spent the first afternoon and night on mooring #1 in the Ten Pound Island group. The wash from the traffic was terrible. My camera rolled off a setee. My wife was seasick. We went to shore for a while. The wash didn't settle down until late. We arranged with the harbor master to move to the inner harbor for our second night, mooring #4. It was much better. The harbor launch was OK but busy. Be sure to tell the operator which group of moorings you are in. There is more than one #1, etc.

Marina Response:
We are sorry to hear you had a bad stay . I'm glad our team accommodated you on your second night . Unfortunate you were here on a very busy weekend. Please remember this is a working harbor. We hope you come back and give us another try
Was this helpful?  Yes - No(1)Report

We had a nice stay. It was quiet. Jason was very helpful with information emailed to us while enroute. Our ETA was after the office closed.

Marina Response:
Thank you for the kind words! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Jason Tittle Dockmaster
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport