Alerts forCOVID-19&2020 Hurricane Season Marina Closures

benholtz

🎉 Reputation: 125
Favorites
No favorites yet.
Lists
No lists yet.
Reviews

This is a second review, 2 years after. You really cannot beat the location for this marina right at the base of Main Street. The service onshore is great and they are very helpful for any need or request. Showers are good and clean, mind you the 3 separate showering facilities, one on each dock, all provide a different experience. We arrived on a very windy and rainy day this year. There was limited dock staff so we waited some time before being guided to our slip. The slip was not easy for our sailboat to enter with the heavy wind. My boat does not have a bow thruster. The dock hands did not tie up the boat well. I should have paid more attention, but with 3 kids and the very hard sail to get in we were eager to get on land. The bow of my boat was damaged, and we had to completely adjust the lines. The first night we were there, the winds were from the east at over 40MPH. There are parts of the basin that are a bit unprotected from this wind, and we were in one of those spots. We were up all night adjusting lines to keep the boat from banging into pilings, I guess 40MPH wind will do that, but I wish we had been elsewhere in the basin. Once the weather broke, we had a good stay. Thank goodness for the great laundry facilities which allowed us to dry out all our clothing,

Marina Response:
Good Afternoon - We apologize for the wait you had before getting docking instructions. With high winds such as you mentioned, we will sometimes send two attendants to an arriving boat, rather than one, for safety and security. This will slow down the docking process for those who are waiting. If you ever need extra help tying lines please feel free to contact us at any time. We have many staff members with more experience that can assist during extreme weather. Thank you for your feedback at the laundry - we try to make sure it is clean and accessible at all times. We hope that this experience doesn't discourage you from returning, we'd love to have you back
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

This was our 4th or 5th trip to South Wharf and we have loved it every time. Great help docking and leaving, They even brought us some steps to help get on and off the boat. They have concerts on Friday evenings in the summer that are fantastic. Easy walk to the village for shops and restaurants.

Marina Response:
Glad you were able to enjoy one of our Brews & Tunes concerts. We hope you come back and join us again next season. We appreciate your kind words!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

This was our first visit to Menemsha, and we loved it. On a mooring, rafted to 2 other boat, which was also a first, but worked out great. The dinghy dock is easy to access and it is a short walk to several casual eating places and shops. It is easy to say that this will become a regular spot for us in the future.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Great place to stay. They are very nice and efficient. The water taxi is a bit pricey but works great. There are only 3 showers for 88 rental moorings in the harbor, so beware that there might be a wait. This year one of the showers was "out of service" so I had to take off a star. Pump out is free and also very efficient.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Great Stay! Very nice harbor, not a lot to do ashore. We radioed MBY upon entering the harbor and were instructed to find an open orange mooring on our port side, of which there were none available. We did find an open orange mooring further in, on our starboard side, which turned out to be a great location. Took the launch service into shore and had an ice cream a the shack on the town pier, just a short walk away. There is not much in walking distance from the drop off point, the ice cream shack, a general store, an inn with a restaurant and a spa. The harbor was quiet and we had a great rest. My only real complaint is that the morning launch driver was going too fast for my liking and throwing some wake fairly early.

Marina Response:
Glad you guys enjoyed your stay in beautiful Mattapoisett! Do you happen to recall what day/morning the launch was going too fast? Just so I can make sure it will never happen again! Hope to see you guys again soon, any questions or concerns My name is Ned and my cell phone number is 774-263-2718
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

It was a rainy day, but the dock hand replied immediately to our hail when we arrived. Easy to dock, they even provides some fenders. The shower facilities are above average. The food at the tavern was awesome. Definitely will be coming again.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

We made a reservation on Dockwa (great service) and were expecting a nice visit. About 2 hours out started to try and call them to confirm and find out where to go. No one answered the phone. Made sure that I had the right number from their website and I did. Tried to call on VHF 9 and was told by another yard that they do not monitor any channels. Went to the dock and finally found someone to tell us where to dock. Docking was hard. We are a 34' sailboat that does not back up easily. After many attempts we finally made into a terrible slip. Going out was worse as there was no way to get out without hitting other boats. The people were ok when you could find them. The showers looked good, but require quarters to run. The food from the dockside cafe was good. We will never go back.

Was this helpful?  Yes(1) - NoReport