Perkins Island Lighthouse is located on Perkins Island, a small rock outcropping about three miles up the Kennebec River from its mouth. Unusual for Maine lighthouses, the 41-foot-tall Perkins Island Lighthouse is constructed of wood, and is still in good repair after 106 years. The lighthouse casts a flashing red light every 2.5 seconds, and has two white sectors, which mark dangerous ledges on the north and south sides of the island.
This wood-built lighthouse was constructed on the island in 1898, and many original buildings, including a keepers house, barn and boathouse are still standing on the property. The United States Coast Guard automated the light in 1959, and the light presently used a 250mm acrylic optic that replaced the old fifth order Fresnel lens.
Use NOAA Chart 13293.
Located about three miles from the mouth of the Kennebec River, Perkins island stands as a mid-way guide for mariners navigating the river from the mouth, and also for mariners headed downstream around Squirrel Point to the north.
Be sure to honor the red nun buoy marking the ledge extending south from Perkins Island, and also for the green can to the west of the island marking another rock ledge. Navigation north up the Kennebec is fairly straightforward and the river is well marked.
The lighthouse is reachable only by boat, and all the buildings on the island are closed to the public. Wed recommend grabbing a look from the water by boat.