Perched on the rock outcrops of Hockamock Head on Swan Island, the Burnt Coat Harbor Lighthouse is easy to spot with its large light keepers house and unique fog bell tower near the water. The lighthouse is constructed of brick, and is painted white and black. A large light keepers house, oil house and fog bell tower are still standing on the property.
The lighthouse stands 75 feet above the waters surface and has an occulting white light that extinguishes every four seconds, staying unlit for one second, and then lighting again for four. The light itself is amplified by a 250mm Fresnel lens.
The lighthouse was built here in 1872, and was automated by the United States Coast Guard in 1975.
The Burnt Coat Harbor Lighthouse was built to guide mariners into Burnt Coat Harbor and to mark the spit of land jutting off of Swans Island known as Hockamock Head. If entering Burnt Coat Harbor, keep an eye out for the light at entry, but also be wary of Gossebury Island Ledge and the other numerous rock outcroppings here, most of which are marked by nun buoys or daybeacons.
The public is free to tour the grounds and parking is available. The lighthouse itself is not open for tours.