Menemsha Harbor

135 Reviews
Claimed
Write a Review
Book Reservation
58 Basin Road
Chilmark, MA 02535
41° 21' 11.42'', -70° 45' 55.32''
(508) 645-2846
VHF Ch. 9
www.chilmarkma.gov
Menemsha Creek
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Menemsha Harbor
Possible light rain tomorrow morning.
70℉SSE at 10 knots
High01:53AM2.326ft
Low07:49AM0.591ft
High02:26PM2.686ft
Low09:40PM0.816ft
You might also consider...

69 Reviews
Award winning, first class marina located at the anchor of the Newport waterf... Read More

Welcome to Martha’s Vineyard’s historic Edgartown Harbor! AS OF 5/13/2021 FO... Read More

--- Experience Edgartown Harbor and all it has to offer. The Harborside Do... Read More

Awards


About


Our goal is to maintain an organized, safe, and courteous harbor which is family oriented. Menemsha Harbor welcomes recreational boaters and commercial fishermen. The village's historic harbor serves as the point of departure for local fishermen, some from multi-generational fishing families. Besides charter fishing, other possibilities for recreation are the public beach adjacent to the harbor and the bicycle ferry across Menemsha Pond to Aquinnah, as well as many excellent places to get freshly cooked seafood. It is also home of some of the most dramatic sunsets in New England.

Our harbor is currently dredged to 9 feet MLW. We have two transient moorings inside the harbor which can be occupied by up to three sailing vessels, and eight single occupancy moorings located outside the breakwater. If you are a sailing vessel requesting a mooring, we will assume that you want an inner harbor mooring unless otherwise requested. If you are a power vessel requesting a mooring, the only option will be the outer harbor mooring field. We do not have a launch service, but offer free dinghy tie up at the town dock.

We have 17 transient wet slips, and a 120 foot linear transient dock on the east side of the harbor. On the west side of the harbor we have space for larger vessels, up to 85 feet in length. If you book a reservation and receive notification that you have been declined, please call the Harbormaster's office directly to discuss other available dates. The Harbormaster's office handles all reservations and confirms or declines all requests. please do not call DOCKWA with reservation or availability questions.

We look forward to seeing you in Menemsha!

Berth Capacity


Slips:17
Moorings:10
Linear Docks:300 Feet

Approach


After entering through the jetties, take an immediate turn to port to enter the harbor. Our two inner harbor moorings are located in the middle of the harbor towards the Coast Guard boathouse from the main entrance. These moorings will require rafting, so please be aware that there may be other vessels already on the mooring when you arrive. We recommend that all three vessels run their own line to the mooring ball after tying alongside. Our transient dockage is immediately to Port after entering through the jetties. Our slips have free standing pilings and most vessels prefer to enter stern first. We recommend that all vessels have bow lines and spring lines ready before entering any slip, as there is often a strong current present. The Menemsha Harbor Department is standing by on VHF Ch.9 to direct you to your mooring or dock assignment. We ask that boaters hail us on the radio before entering the harbor to keep traffic density to a minimum.
Minimum Approach Depth:7.0 Feet
Minimum Channel Depth:7.0 Feet
Mean Low Water Dock Depth:7.0 Feet

Services & Amenities

Last Updated: Apr 09, 2020

Dockage:Yes
Moorings:Yes
Fuel Dock:Yes
Water Hookup:Yes
Maintenance Facility:Nearby
Dinghy Dock:Yes
Pump-out:Yes
Restrooms:Yes
Showers:Yes
Trash:Yes
Ice:Yes
Gas:Yes
Diesel:Yes
ATM:Yes
Groceries:Nearby
Alcohol:Nearby
Medical Facility:Nearby
Pharmacy:Nearby
Bike Rentals:Nearby
Hotels:Nearby
Restaurants:Yes
Beach:Yes
Dog Park:Nearby
Pet Friendly:Yes
Ship Store:Nearby
Bait & Tackle:Yes
Fixed Docks:Yes
Floating Docks:Yes
Electric Amps:30/50
Show All

Verified

Menemsha never disappoints. We were rafted on a mooring night one and the harbor master accommodated our request to raft port side to. Night two we shifted to a slip where the harbor master gave us major assistance backing between pilings in a crosswind. The small fishing village of Menemsha is a gem.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Cute Harbor. Harbormaster staff friendly and helpful. Best sunset of the cruise. Quiet at night once the youngings left. We were on the face dock opposite the Harbormaster office. The pier parking lot appears to be a local nighttime gathering place....

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha Harbor is a hidden Gem. Ryan and his crew are the best Harbormaster Department I've encountered. They are all very helpful, professional and friendly. I love the quiet little harbor. When needing to relax and decompress, it is my absolute favorite destination. The proximity to world class fishing also makes it a must visit for anglers!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful harbor. Beach is great. It right there and always enjoy lobster dinner on the boat thanks to Larson’s fish market while watching the best sunset The dock hands are really awesome. They know exactly how to get you in the slip(slips can be tight). Trust them

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Love Menemsha - amazing sunsets and lobster dinner from Larsen’s fish market

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

This is a beautiful place! Everyone was helpful and friendly and the docks are in good shape with perfect sunset views.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Harbormaster (Andrew) was not allowing us to pump out our almost full black water tank. I told him repeatedly that it may overflow at any time (a biological hazard). He said, unless we buy a full tank of gas, we are not allowed to pump out. The gas dock was completely empty and I was being accommodating to come into the dock at any time to avoid loss of business. I even offered to purchase some gas, just not filling up my entire 150gal tank. Plus, we were staying at a slip for two nights. I found this extremely unprofessional and frankly illegal, as it’s mandated by federal law to have free pumpout services; never in my 20yrs of boating have I had to purchase gas to get a pumpout. This policy needs to be changed and Andrew needs to read up on boating laws.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we only allow vessels to conduct pump outs on the fuel dock on as as needed basis and as a last resort. We have two other pump out locations in the harbor, one of which we offered you and you refused. In the State of MA it is unlawful to conduct a pump out on a fuel dock except for in smaller Marina's where pump out locations are limited to fuel docks only, so we make every effort to have pump outs done at other locations for safety reasons. I am unfamiliar with any federal law that states free pump out services must be available at every Marina. We hope you will visit us again soon and we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Very nice. Staff was extremely courteous.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Aidan and the staff are the absolute best and so attentive! The views and experience are amazing. A gem!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful place, very laid back. Chill in Chillmark is the saying. We were tied up on the end of the west dock. A bit of a walk to the fish markets but not bad. Dingy is faster. There’s lots of current during tides both flood and ebb. If you can arrive at slack its no worries. If not just turn to port past the jetties and the floating docks into the basin. The current is less once inside.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great New England fishing port with great people and fresh seafood. Thanks for everything Menemsha harbor!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great place! Harbor Master team is always friendly and helpful. Sunsets are outstanding and the local fish place is so convenient.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful location with very nice and helpful Harbormaster team!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Fantastic stay and Larsen’s was as good as the old days. Ryan and his staff are real professionals and very helpful. Great operation.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Dock services and support were impeccable. Showers leave little to nothing to be desired, and we’re utterly disappointing. You can do much better!

Marina Response:
Hi There. Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the Harbor Department is not in control of the Menemsha Beach Comfort Station (bathrooms). We’re sorry about your bad experience with the bathrooms and we will pass on your concerns to the Sanitation Department who takes care of them.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

It's a quaint harbor, not far from Cuttyhunk across Vineyard Sound. There are some nice fish markets and stores within walking distance. There is a seasonal bike ferry across Menemsha Pond, which allows you to walk or bike to Gay Head Lighthouse (about 4 miles) and take in the spectacular views. Very helpful harbormaster and staff, especially with dock lines and recommendations for things to do in the area, The dock spaces are a little tight and there are pilings, so it's best to go stern in and tie bow lines to the pilings first. Good location and great experience, will be back again soon!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

It’s a terrific place to unwind and meet really nice people. It’s like going back in time…

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha is a wonderful place to visit, but if there is ANY westerly component to the weather, you will roll badly on the outside moorings. Inside moorings reserved only for sail.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Was this helpful?  Yes(1) - NoReport
Verified

Ryan, Spyder, and Aidan are awesome!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The moorings are not in a harbor, but out in the open, subject to swells and a 5-10 mile fetch. Very uncomfortable in any northeast through south winds. Would be fine in glass calm or east breeze. Menemsha has some small fresh fish markets, gas station conveniences, cafe and ice cream stands, but no real restaurants. You cannot overnight anchor in the pond unfortunately, which would have been way better than on a very uncomfortable mooring. Bay cops will ticket clammers without a license in the pond.

Marina Response:
Hi There. Thank you for your review. If you choose to visit again, please be aware that we offer dock space inside the harbor for power vessels. We have 17 transient wet slips and a 140’ linear dock for alongside tie ups, all with water and shore power available.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We were able to stay inside the harbor, on one of the 2 moorings. Someone else was supposed to show up and raft, but they never did. Outside the harbor would have been untenable. Great lobsters at Larsens.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Wonderful like always. Great staff with Ryan and company

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Excellent harbormaster help. Very attentive. Delicious lobster roll!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

A little tight inside but well protected. Harbormaster very responsive on the radio.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful place, nice and quiet. Locals and “regulars” at the dock are polite and happy to help. One out of the six nights we stayed had older CT people forgetting that 1999 has passed and partying at a dock like Menemsha made them look foolish and ignorant! Great family stay with the best sunsets around!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great people very relaxing

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great support from the dockmasters

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Best place to stay in the vineyard. Can’t say enough about the amazing harbormaster and his staff they do an amazing job.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The dock master was especially flexible and helpful allowing us to move to a mooring from a constricted dock as we pulled into the harbor. He gave us advice on how to take advantage of the harbor and surrounding area. We found Menensha friendly and charming - like from an earlier area. We look forward to our next trip there.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Harbormaster and staff are exceptional. Challenge docking with the wind and current the day of our arrival. The Harbormaster could not have been more helpful

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Always love our visits to Menemsha. Ryan, the Harbormaster, is always pleasant, helpful and courteous.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Our stay was great. Besides the challenge to get in to the slip due to the crazy currents, everything was great. We have two dogs and the floating dock makes it easy to get them off the boat for a walk. We saw two fabulous sunsets while there and ate a lot of oyesters - what could be better???

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice place to visit. Harbormaster was outstanding in helping us to the dock.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha has always been our favorite harbor to visit for over 30 years. Initially I was concerned about Dockwa availability but everything worked out well. New Harbormaster Ryan Rossi and Wharfingers Daniel and Adan couldn’t have been nicer. They checked every night and morning to see how we were doing. We’re low maintenance and didn’t need anything but it was a nice touch. We felt like we were on a cruise ship with nightly roll down service. The new Harbormaster is off to a great start. Thanks for everything looking forward to returning end of Aug. Bill Donovan Overbudget

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful harbor, nicely protected. Stayed 3 nights, and will do it again!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Attentive and helpful staff, outside moorings on bad weather/windy not recommended at all , harbormaster was very helpful in helping us inside the harbor during the bad weather.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha was an awesome place to visit! Definitely going back soon! The harbormaster was very helpful and welcoming!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

I transited from Westport Harbor to Menemsha via the Canapitsit Channel with a USN Captain (ret) on board. We made an absolutely magical crossing on a lake-like Buzzards Bay and MV Sound, arriving in Menemsha to a nearly-empty marina. We were promptly greeted by the Dockmaster and made fast to the fixed pier. No complaints, it was a weekend for the record book!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Harbormaster and Assistant Harbormaster were great! Took care of our boat during rough seas and strong winds. Much appreciated.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great stay and harbor master Very responsive

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Amenities are very basic. But why to they come to kick you off the dock at 11:00 AM even if no one is coming to take your slip? Seems fairly petty.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great location and excellent assistance from the marina staff' A keeper!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The Harbormaster and his Crew in MSHA were top notch. Very professional and very conscious of the guidelines set in place due to Covid. We look forward to future vacations in MSHA.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Pretty, quaint harbor with beach right there. Excellent Harbor master and staff.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

This was our first time in Menemsha! We loved it! The dock crew were amazing and helpful at all times!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Always a great stay, particularly when able to stay inside the basin!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great staff and wonderful views from the slip overlooking Vinyard Sound, "meet the fleet was great and the Coast Guard mock rescue was incredible.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

It was difficult pulling into the habor, but the Harbor Master crew is amazing, they help each boat one by one. We have never worked with such a great crew. Liked it so much we'll be heading back for the long weekend.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Spent the week and Ryan and the rest of the team were the best. Very helpful when necessary!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Excellent experience , the dock team was outstanding in their efforts to assist our 44 foot sail into the slip , all in the rain , current and 15 knot SW !! Appreciate the great efforts and attitude , well done , thank you

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Friendly dock people. Quiet setting. Good seafood available a short walk from the docks. Could improve the wi-fi.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great stay during some snotty weather. Moorings were taken so we had to tie up at a dock. It’s all stern in and a right squeeze, which is not much fun, for a 45’ full keel bot with a non functioning bow thruster. But the harbor master and his assts were a big help and all was well

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Super helpful dock hands and unreal sunsets! I'll be back...

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

This was our first time at Menemsha. The docks are not floating so the tie-up is stern-in and you run the lines to the pilings. A dock hand helped us tie up. You can go bow-in, but our 35' boat did not allow exit off the bowsprit so we had to dinghy to the dock. The benefit to bow-in is that your cockpit will face the inner harbor view which is much nicer than facing a stone wall and a parking lot; and also provides more privacy. If you have a dinghy it's fun to explore the big "pond". The beach is right there and the sunsets are spectacular. Several fish markets offer take-out of both cooked and raw fish. TIP: Order early in the day and/or be prepared for a long wait, both at the ordering and pick-up windows. Long lines at dinner time were so bad that we would not do this again. One place actually closed early because they ran out of much of their menu. Dining options are very limited. Don't overlook the Menemsha Galley where service was much better but it's a longer walk and more of a lunch menu. There are a few small shops. Not so good for biking as the roads are all narrow and busy. Overall, though, worth the stay. We'll come back next year.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha is not to be missed. The marina is well run and the dock staff are very helpful. This is especially important because most of the slips on the floating dock require a stern-in landing. On the day we arrived the winds were 20-25 kts, making docking particularly difficult in a sailboat. But the dock staff helped with directions and handling lines and made it relatively easy.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

HARBOR MASTER AND CREW WERE OUTSTANDING. BEST STAY AT MENEMSHA EVER. WHAT A CHANGE WITH THE NEW STAFF THEY HAVE. POLITE AND PROFESSIONAL AND VERY CAPABLE. LOVE THEM

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great stay as always. I would like to thank Captain Rossi and Sam for their flexibility to accommodate us. Menemsha Harbor is a super friendly, scenic destination and we will look forward to come back again soon

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Always accommodating and fun

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Teffific. Team is exceptional. Always working to help on water or on the land. Very professional

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful setting and excellent staff! We will be back!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great stay in Menemsha. I can't say enough good things about the Harbormaster staff. They were extremely helpful and welcoming. They are a young group, but they definitely know what they are doing. Thanks for a great stay!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha is lovely, and tranquil, with great seafood a short walk from the beach. The outer harbor moorings are more exposed, and the can which marks the approach has a bell which sounds all night. It didn’t stop us, just a piece of data to have when making decisions.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Very Picturesque. Always a favorite stop. The Harbormaster and crew are very helpful and professional. In the harbor is very protected, the West docks located in the main channel has a very strong tidal current. Multiple restaurants within walking distance.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Always a great stay. Outer mooring this time, and the kids loved jumping off the boat and swimming to shore! The entire crew @ the Harbormaster's office is professional and communicative. Keep up the great work guys!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great spot to stay, a favorite we come back to every season.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Excellent. Easy check in. Competent dock hands.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great staff, and location.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Absolutely perfect stay in Menemsha Harbor. The docking assistance was top notch in every way. The only problem was that the dock hands would not accept tips!! They made sure our every need was met and our stay was perfect. Our view of the sunset from the boat was impossible to match. We will be back!!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful unique quaint destination.wonderful dock staff

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha is our new favorite spot. Dock staff were so helpful and friendly. Seafood was so fresh.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Strange being one boat on a mooring Beach is unchanged by the virus Larsen’s needs to work on their system. It needs help Harbormaster always highly competent

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Very accommodating, and hospitable. Washroom is not open 24 hrs, but porta potties available -however NOT clean enough to consider using.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The Harbormaster staff are outstanding!! They really know how to handle lines and assist while docking in a cross wind. Even watched them assist a boat by using the Harbormaster boat as tug boat. Thank you!! Joe McDonough Scamper

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Professional and friendly service. They couldn't be more helpful. Great little fishing village on the Vineyard.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Easy arrival and departure.Wharfingers and harbormaster very helpful.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The harbormaster and staff were so helpful and kind. My husband and I had a great experience, and we look forward to going back.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Had a blast there. We love that place!!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

The Menemsha Harbor Master, Capt. Ryan Rossi and the rest of the staff working under his direction are outstanding! A few weeks ago, we rented a slip for about a week and had opportunities to interact with him directly and observe him working with other boaters. In every case, he was patient, professional, and courteous. Even more impressive was the fact that when other boaters were incapable of bringing their boats into their slip on their own, Ryan skillfully positioned the other boats to allow their entrance into their assigned slip. Throughout our entire stay, we observed Ryan and his staff interact and assist all of the boaters and maintain activity in the harbor. In no case, did he or any other of his staff accept a tip indicating they are state employees. Truly impressive and honest. Even upon our departure, Ryan assisted us at the fuel dock and pump out. Compared to our boating experiences staying at other harbors, we find the Menemsha Harbor Master, Capt. Ryan Rossi, to be exceptional in every way. The combination of his knowledge, experience, skill, and calm demeanor is unmatched.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Stern in docking between pilings is a challenge for a single engine trawler, especially with a steady 13kt breeze but the dock hands and harbormaster in his specially padded boat made it almost easy. Their assistance was crucial and led to a successful docking and departure a day later. It's a very quaint location with beautiful sunsets, a public beach and breakwater with walking path, a few shops and lots of natural beauty. We hope to return next year.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The harbormaster staff were very helpful, and very pleasant. It’s a lovely little place.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great time , dock masters we’re very helpful

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice spot, very small basin. Minus 1 star for the following: showers closed due to the WuFlu which was not their fault. Larsen’s food only ok, clam chowder was watery, lobster dip needs way more lobster, as it was nearly undetectable. But service exceptionally friendly. As for the mooring, we assumed it was located in Menemsha Pond up Menemsha Creek but not so! The two inner moorings are in Menemsha Basin. This should be emphasized to those unfamiliar. Otherwise great and friendly, helpful people.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Very friendly staff , they are waiting there for you to help with the docking process. As well as to information about the area . Heading back again in august

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Outstanding Harbormaster’s Staff. Wonderful marina and Harbor. The food and views are spectacular!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The moorings were outside the breakwater and basically sitting exposed in the Vineyard Sound. It was like trying to sleep while sailing in a storm.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

It was our second stay at Menemsha. It is such a beautiful and peaceful setting. The harbor master and staff are always helpful, especially with docking when the current is running, which will push the boat port or starboard (flow and ebb) when backing in. There are no fingers so you have to exit the boat from the stern. The staff is great, they even stopped by all the boats to ask if we needed anything before they went home for the evening! We left trying to figure out when we might come back. I'm thinking the fall might be a great time if the MV Derby doesn't fill up all the available slips.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great Marina and Staff. Harbor Master and staff very helpful. Once they complete the pump out stations around the bulkhead and beyond for easy pumping going to be fantastic addition.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

It was more than I imagined. Everyone helping everyone! Friendly and ...of course the SUNSET!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The harbor master and the team were very helpful and professional in helping us secure our berth.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Harbor Master staff members were great. Very helpful when we were docking. Menemsha is my favorite place on earth. Thank you for another great stay! - Sharon McNamara, "Turn The Page"

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Pretty fishing harbor with basic amenities, two fish/lobster stores, with tieups made much easier thanks to very helpful, capable Harbormaster Rossi.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great Harbor! We will definitely add this harbor to our list of places to stay. The sunsets are phenomenal there. The beach and jetty quickly fills up close to sunset. The Harbormaster is extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Excellent stay at Menemsha. Harbor was great, assisted with a tricky docking. Town is very nice, fresh seafood. Can’t miss sunset!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

what a delightful spot. Busy commercial fishing harbor and you are in the middle of it all. We will be back!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

This was our first visit to Menemsha, and we loved it. On a mooring, rafted to 2 other boat, which was also a first, but worked out great. The dinghy dock is easy to access and it is a short walk to several casual eating places and shops. It is easy to say that this will become a regular spot for us in the future.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

excellent harbor and dock personnel

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice small harbor location, sunsets very nice from the bridge and nearby dinghy accessible beaches are among the Vineyards best!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha is awesome...so pretty. Not a place to provision but they do have great seafood available. They also have showers with HOT water!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Super helpful and hospitable harbor master. Well kept docks and ramps.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

First time and despite being on a mooring outside and some rockin and rollin a great sunset. Great fish from Larsons for dinner and a great time at Gay Head lighthouse and cliffs . Buses are not on time. Walked some but next time ?uber may be the way to go! Wish they had moorings inside for motor boats. Like being on mooring vs dock overall but docks reasonable even fo summer time and MV

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Outstanding HM crew. Extremely dutiful and responsive. Menemsha is now a top tier service provider. Nice work!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Menemsha is a fantastic destination. The Harbormaster staff is extremely helpful and professional. The fresh seafood available at the markets along the harbor is excellent. The sunset is a spectacle for the family. We will be back next summer.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Friendly staff, beautiful setting, and picturesque country side. Bring your bicycles and BYOB as Menemsha is a dry town

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great stay! Smooth sailing with Ryan and Spider at the helm! Keep up the good work guys!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Our stay was nice enough although the bathroom/showers were not clean at all and there was no WIFI service available. However being right next to fresh seafood outweighed the negatives. Marina was quiet and the service was very friendly and helpful, will come again next year.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Super concerned courteous staff. Great town, great facility.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Dock hands are very good. Harbormaster attentive.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice Harbor but wavy at moorings

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

This was out first visit to Menemsha Harbor and it won't be our last. Great Marina with beaches just steps away, looking forward to staying here again.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We loved every minute of our stay!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Ryan and the staff were great.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great dockside help. Picturesque harbor. Right next to the beach. A favorite.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Lovely to be on Mooring in this beautiful harbor.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great spot for chilling. Fresh seafood available at two fish markets near the dock. Bulkhead dockage requires a compliant GFI electric circuit on your boat, otherwise you will not be able to connect to the shore power.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

What a great place! Very helpful dock attendants, very friendly vibe, and the best sunset on the island. Will definitely return.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The Harbormaster staff were outstanding, helpful and courteous. They greeted us, assisted us in docking. Daniel provided us with an overview of the harbor, places to eat and things to do.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great place, definitely on the list

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Everything convenient. Good price point. They just need a small grocery.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

beautiful harbor and helpful harbormaster

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We absolutely loved our stay at the Menemsha dock. Our dock hand Daniel was courteous and efficient. He helped us dock under very windy conditions and we were grateful to have his assistance. The dock area was clean and quiet, and the sunset was absolutely spectacular!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Lovely working harbor with two moorings directly across from Larson’s Fish Market which has oysters, lobsters, stuffies and lots of stuff on which to dine aboard. However,. Visitors should be alerted that they put up to three boats on each of the moorings. Quite a challenge of the uninitiated.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Very scenic location. The harbormaster was very helpful. The sunset is not to be missed!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

This was our first time to Menemsha and first time rafting up to another boat on a mooring. We had a great time- the current flows pretty swiftly through the bight- so pay attention! plenty of room at the dinghy dock and having comfort station close by was very convenient.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

One of our favorite places. So peaceful. Fresh seafood at the dock.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Have many boating friends that love Menemsha, so when the opportunity arose for us to spend a night there on a mooring we took it to see what’s to love. Good things started right off as the Harbormaster (Ryan I believe) walked us right in over the radio after we announced it was our first time. One of the most friendly greetings we’ve ever received. Since we have a dog, that involved many trips to the excellent dingy dock. Our only regret was the high wind that curtailed our dingy touring, but that will necessitate many more return trips to Menemsha.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

While the location is beautiful the outer harbor moorings are no place to stay if you're looking to rest. We moved into the pond to avoid getting sick from the chop that was beating on us. Challenging effort to navigate the channel and pond at night. Not recommended but found a much more peaceful place in the pond.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Amazing location. Beautiful sunsets. Great food.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We had another amazing week in Menemsha. I found the assistants to the harbormaster to be attentive and professional. Everyone was helpful and very willing to accommodate any requests. The entire operation seems to be running smoothly. Looking forward to next year!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great spot for relaxing. Awesome sunsets. Great shelter from weather. The harbor master team at Menemsha we’re great. Docking with the pillings can be a bit tricky if you’re not used to them. Stopped there for 2 nights. Dockside water and electric. You’re steps from the beach and fishmongers. Goto the Menemsha Fish Market for the best chowder or bisque and a lobster salad roll. Amazing. In Menemsha you can go off the grid.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

I had forgotten what a gem this place is. It is one our favorite destinations.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Such a beautiful location. Very responsive harbormaster. Perfect.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

While the area is very pretty and quiet, the little harbor is not a great place to overnight. Very crowded - 3 boats per mooring. You sneeze and a bunch of people say - Gesundheit. Also, depending on wind direction, the fish stench is nauseating. BUT - anchor just to the right of the harbor entrance and you will have an absolutely beautiful experience. Nice beach, beautiful sunset and peace and quiet.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great spot, highly recommend staying here.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Awesome location Dock staff are very friendly and helpful.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport