Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors

28 Reviews
Write a Review
Book Reservation
1559 S Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60605
41° 51' 39.96'', -87° 36' 39.96''
312-747-7009
VHF Ch. 71
www.chicagoharbors.info
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Burnham Harbor, the Chicago Harbors
Partly cloudy starting tomorrow evening, continuing until tomorrow night.
34℉SSW at 6 knots
Fuel
Last Updated: Oct 11, 2017

Diesel$3.83
Gas Regular$3.70

About


Please Note: 2-3 night minimum may be charged for special events of holidays. Burnham Harbor has a 30ft minimum.

Burnham Harbor is located within walking distance of the Chicago downtown and is situated on the Museum Campus. It is the largest harbor in the Chicago Harbors system. Surrounded by a stunning skyline view, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Soldier Field, and McCormick Place the harbor is a focal point of the City of Chicago. Burnham Harbor is also home to the Burnham Park Yacht Club. The harbor has 1126 slips, mooring cans, and star docks and can accommodate boats from 28-100ft + in length.

Transient docking is available; please call the harbor directly for reservations any time after May 15. Burnham Harbor has a fuel dock facility with gas and diesel fuels. There is a laundry facility in the Ship’s Store. Waste pump-out equipment is available on a no-charge basis. There is a 3-lane launch ramp at the harbor with parking for approximately 43 vehicles with trailers. There is a mast stepping/unstopping capability at the Burnham Park Yacht Club, located on the east side of Burnham Harbor. The harbor monitors channels 9 and 16 and the switch to/working channel is 71.

Boaters, please note: No Overnight Trailer Parking is permitted.

Approach


Approach Burnham Harbor from the east or southeast. There will be a harbor light flashing green every 3 seconds. If you end up too far north, you will see the light turn red and you should not proceed. Only approach if the light is green and enter Burnham Harbor from the south.
Minimum Approach Depth:16.0 Feet

Services & Amenities

Last Updated: Jul 29, 2017

Dockage:Yes
Fuel Dock:Yes
Water Hookup:Yes
Water Taxi:Nearby
Wi-Fi:Yes
Pump-out:Yes
Restrooms:Yes
Showers:Yes
Laundry:Yes
Trash:Yes
Ice:Yes
Boat Ramp:Yes
Gas:Yes
Diesel:Yes
Security:Yes
Groceries:Yes
Alcohol:Nearby
Medical Facility:Nearby
Pharmacy:Nearby
Bike Rentals:Nearby
Hotels:Nearby
Restaurants:Nearby
Beach:Nearby
Dog Park:Yes
Fitness Center:Nearby
Tennis:Nearby
Ship Store:Yes
Bait & Tackle:Nearby
Max. Vessel LOA:225.0 Feet
Floating Docks:Yes
Electric Amps:30, 50, 100
Electric Voltage:120, 208, Single Phase
Oil Disposal:Nearby
Show All

rgabaldoSep 05, 2017
Verified

great experience as always!!!

Marina Response:
Thank you for reviewing us! We are pleased to hear that you always have a great experience here! See you next time.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
scottwyatt50Aug 28, 2017
Verified

Great Marina, the staff is helpful . Slips are tight getting in and out , but a little patience you'll be fine. Marina store is well stocked , Great easy location for UBER to pick you up and get you downtown to the action . Docks could use a little work. Rubber edges on our dock , E52 was missing the corner. With expensive boats and the rates they charge they should be looking closer at the dock maintenance . But again, all good . Thanks Burnham

Marina Response:
Hi Scott, we appreciate you taking out the time and reviewing our marina! Every year, at the beginning of the boating season we walk every dock in search of rub rail that may be missing and replace it. We will be adding this to our maintenance log and have a dock hand go out there and fix it. We hope that you stay with us in the future!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
zougiejrAug 27, 2017
Verified

Everyone from staff to occupants were extremely kind and helpful. Eveeyone went out of their way to make our stay extremely enjoyable will definitely return there and will highly recommend it to all.

Marina Response:
Thank you for such a kind review, we try our best to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. We appreciate you recommending us to all, and look forward for your return!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
captasisAug 27, 2017
Verified

I was unable to pull the necessary power of the dock post. I would like to receive a credit for that part of the reservation. I have informed the marina.

Marina Response:
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our marina. We are so sorry to hear that you had power issues during your stay, the Harbor Master will be notified. Hope to see you again in the future!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
ccollins2929Aug 24, 2017
Verified

need access to additional dining options/ store options after hours

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the local cafes close early on museum campus. Next time stop in or give us a call during business hours and well be able to help you out and give you a few options.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
jhmunnAug 22, 2017
Verified

Great location with fantastic views of city skyline. Slip was located on the northerly island side and good location for uber pick up. Friendly and helpful boaters. Only negative was bathroom cleanliness.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time. This weekend was one of our busiest and was a bit challenging to keep up with the restrooms but we appreciate the feedback. We hope that you return in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
textman1000Aug 22, 2017
Verified

Burnham harbor was wonderful! We stayed here for the Chicago air and water show. It was supper busy! Their staff was very nice and helpful. They do a good job at keeping everything pretty clean. The views are crazy cool! We have put this destination our todo list for every year.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and will be returning on your yearly bucket list.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
mwaleskiAug 21, 2017
Verified

Great Trip to the city for the air and water show. Harbor is in great shape and the surrounding area is beautiful. Would like to see a parking pass included.

Marina Response:
Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear you had a great stay. We hope to see you next season.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
dinambJul 27, 2017
Verified

We LOVE this place!! And let me tell you, with the troubles we had getting here last year (our trip started at 4 am, getting to first lock- Dresden only to have an engine conk out, after engine fixed, next day- try again- leave at 4 am and have a 4 hour wait at Dresden- only to have our batteries drained by the time it was our turn (operator error- lesson learned) marina delivered batteries, windy and getting bounced on the wall waiting at Brandon st lock, going through the canals in pitch black with debris and barges everywhere, no one answering at Amtrak bridge to raise it, getting to Chicago Harbor lock at 3am and when the doors opened, staring out terrified at the black abyss, getting to our slip ;finally!) by 3:30am) you can be sure we wouldn't be making this trip again had our stay last year been awful. We even kept extending our stay it last year. Since we did have such a good time, I knew to book for a longer stay this time. Booking was easy, staff friendly & helpful, bathrooms are a dream!, and the picturesque location can't be beat! Even though we had to battle a storm to get here, the hubaroo is already talking about next year's trip- and we're not even halfway through this one! So yeah, we're kinda crushing on this place!

Marina Response:
Thank you for all of the excellent feedback! We are so happy to hear that you always enjoy your visit with us at Burnham harbor. Although we are upset to hear about all the obstacles you encountered on your way to Burnham last year, we are thrilled that you made it here safely and decided to come back for a second visit! We hope you continue to visit us here at Burnham in the future; keep on crushing on this place!
Was this helpful?  Yes(1) - NoReport
thekinshipJul 25, 2017
Verified

Great accommodating staff. Fuel dock well run and reasonable prices. Phenomenal view of the city and the Navy Pier fireworks. Our second year there and we will make it an annual event. Thank You Burnham Harbor!!!!

Marina Response:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review us. We are thrilled to hear your positive feedback concerning our staff, especially our gas dock attendants. We look forward to having you stay with us here again at Burnham harbor in the future as well!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Dock and facilities are very nice.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing what you enjoyed about our harbor during your visit. Hopefully you will decide to visit us again at Burnham harbor in the future!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
johndrewsJul 10, 2017
Verified

The Harbor Master is absolutely a game changer at Burnham Harbor. She is always available to address any issue or resolve any issue. Her staff is well trained always attentive and provide the best customer service possible. The Burnham Harbor Harbor Master always exceeds our expectations.

Marina Response:
Thank you John for your review! The harbor master has been notified of your positive feedback. Everyday our employees strive to offer the utmost customer service to ensure all of our boaters have a great experience while staying here.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
tammywhelanJul 09, 2017
Verified

Thanks for the quick refund. Had to leave a day early unexpectedly. Burnham is a great location especially if you are attending a concert at Northerly Island. The view is unbeatable. My only complaint is we often have trouble with the electricity either not working or switching off. The bathroom facilities are less than desirable for such a nice marina. It would also be nice to have assistance docking when requested. That being said, we will be back because we love the location!!

Marina Response:
Hello Tammy! Thank you for the review. We will make sure to go out and test the pedestals at the slips you previously stayed at that way we can prevent other boaters from having the same issues as well in the future. The harbor master has been notified about the conditions of the bathroom facilities. We appreciate you taking time out of your day to bring these concerns to our attention. We look forward to seeing you for your next reservation with us.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
5748492711Jul 09, 2017
Verified

Convenient location, clean bath house, friendly staff.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your response. We are ecstatic to hear that you had a great experience with our location, facilities, and staff. We hope you will come visit us again at Burnham harbor!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
curtitrJul 07, 2017
Verified

Did not like this Marina at all. Had no marina. bathrooms were locked at night. no beach. staff did not know questions asked. nothing fun around walking distance. restuarant was a joke high price for tiny hamburger. no hose on doc for water. electric box barely reachable. Noisy. commercial boats blowing horns all day. Never again...oh and at $90 A NIGHT CRAZY HIGH

Marina Response:
We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Burnham harbor. After hours, one side of the harbor office has locked doors, while the other side is always unlocked so that boaters have access to these facilities after hours. While we lock these set of doors for security purposes, we will now be keeping them unlocked to eliminate any potential confusion. All of our boaters should have access to all of our bathroom facilities 24/7 with the code provided. 12th street beach is on the east side of our harbor by Northerly Island. Burnham is located centrally between Soldier Field, the McCormick place, Northerly Island's Pavilion, the Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium, and the Field Museum. In our office, we have schedules for what events are taking place at these different venues; our staff can work with you to find the perfect weekend to suit your interests. Unfortunately, the Dockside Cafe is a separate, independent business from the Chicago Harbors, so we cannot further assist you with this concern. If you experience issues your pedestal or hose, please let the staff know in the office as we can help assist you in these obstacles to make your reservation worthwhile. Again, we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at Burnham harbor; we hope you decide to make a reservation with us in the future, and we will help ensure that you are in a quiet, comfortable location for a future visit.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
michelleakey1Jul 06, 2017
Verified

Marina itself is nice. Floating bath houses near us were out of order which was a pain. No close by supply store

Marina Response:
Hello Michelle. Thank you for making a reservation with us at Burnham harbor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our marina. Unfortunately, the pump on our floating bath facilities went out of order during your reservation. This is a rare occasion, and we did have a plumber out there that day to address the issue. We offer a selection of West Marine items in our ship store between J and K dock. If you have any recommendations of new items for us to add, please let us know, and we will look into adding these new items. We hope you will make another reservation with us in the future!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
tyf8838Jul 05, 2017
Verified

Nice harbor at a nice location! It's very obvious its run by the government/park district. There is zero customer service and the I dont care attitude. Didn't answer the radio, security gate did not close and lock and several water leaks on the dock. I politely brought all of these to their attention and got a shrug of the shoulders. This is our second Chicago Harbor this week and it also surprises me that no one checks you in or makes sure you are in the correct slip. You could very easily pull into any empty slip and they would never know you were here. Zero security!

Marina Response:
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our harbor. We sincerely apologize that you did not have a better experience here in regards to our customer service. Our harbor master has been notified of this concern. We purchased a new marine radio, and we now have two marine radios in our office monitoring 9 and 16. Our switch to/working channel is 71. The gate and leaky spigots have been addressed on our maintenance log, and work orders have been submitted. Every day we complete a full audit and two additional transient audits. We are constantly monitoring what boats are in what slips to ensure everyone is in the correct location for security measures. When we are closed, we have security here after hours. Security's number is posted on the inside of all of our gates if any assistance is needed. Thank you again for bringing all of these concerns to our attention, and we hope you will consider staying here again at Burnham harbor in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
andon82Jul 04, 2017
Verified

Excellent marina, my favorite of all great location and very friendly crew.

Marina Response:
Thank you for making a reservation with us at Burnham harbor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit, and we hope you continue to make reservations with us in the future!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
yamamaJun 26, 2017
Verified

The online system worked flawlessly. The Harbormaster was very accommodating at our request and where we would like to dock. The dock is beautiful and access to Northerly Island and other amenities is awesome.

Marina Response:
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience using Dockwa! The more information you provide us in your reservation notes concerning your preferences, such as dock locations or specific ties, the better we are able to assist you. Our goal is for you have a flawless experience for your reservation. Please continue to add special requests for your reservation(s) that way we know what things are important to you for your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the close proximity to Northerly Island and the amenities here. Please consider staying here at Bunrham again in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
randypodolskyJun 26, 2017
Verified

Thanks for s great stay.

Marina Response:
Thank you for staying with us at Burnham harbor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will continue to make further reservations with us in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
sailstarrJun 12, 2017
Verified

Very good facilities and accommodating.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it and we are glad that you enjoyed our facilities!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
nicoledmilosJun 12, 2017
Verified

The app made it very convenient. We knew the gate codes, slip assignment and could easily navigate the harbor.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review. We are excited that you liked using dockwa to make your reservation. Please consider making another reservation at Burnham harbor in the future; we would love to have you stay here again!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great and I plan to use Burnham in the future and really hope I get Dock H again!

Marina Response:
We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your time at Burnham harbor. Thank you for taking time out of your day to review us! If you decide to stay with us again in the future, please indicate in the special requests section that you prefer H dock. We will try to meet this accommodation to the best of our ability. We hope to have you stay here again in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
vorelhouseholdJun 05, 2017
Verified

Amazing view of the city!!! Excellent Wi-Fi connection. Food delivered right to your slip. Very friendly resident dock- mates. Ride share & cab drop off & pick up at Harbor House. Great walking paths for dogs. Overall could not recommend more!!!

Marina Response:
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review us. Being in the heart of Chicago makes Burnham harbor a wonderful place to stay. This season we started installing new Wi-Fi receptors, so we are thrilled to hear the positive feedback in regards to this. We are glad you enjoyed all of our amenities, and we hope you make another reservation with us in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
marieahillJun 05, 2017
Verified

In town for the U2 concert at Soldier Field and best spot to slip. We always come the Burnham when we visit Chicago and everyone is very nice. We visit the Burnham Harbor Yacht Club each trip as well and they always make you feel like you are a member there. Great time!

Marina Response:
Thank you for the great review about our harbor and staff. We are glad you enjoyed visiting the yacht club as well. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Doesn't have all the amenities that we would like but very good overall.

Marina Response:
Hello, thank you for taking time out of your day to review Burnham harbor. We are glad you enjoyed your visit here. We are always open to hearing suggestions on how to improve the amenities and facilities here at Burnham. Please let our office know what accommodations would make your stay better, and we will try out best to update the harbor in terms of these. We hope you consider staying at Burnham again in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
wgntvJun 05, 2017
Verified

After shoveling off all the goose poop off the dock, the stay was fabulous! We'll pay extra for a clean dock nextime. :)

Marina Response:
We are excited to hear that you had a positive experience at Burnham! Please contact the staff in our office if you have a similar situation in the future. We will have one of our dock attendants come to your slip and clean off the surrounding area for you. We hope to have you stay in our marina again in the future.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
raypurdy1Jun 04, 2017
Verified

I reserved a slip on May 1st as a transient boater for 4 nights. We brought the boat from Grand Haven Michigan for a long weekend in Chicago. I purchased gas and reserved a slip expending over $1,000.00 in your marina. I expressly requested a stern starboard side dock. I received an email with the dock reservation and slip assignment. Upon our arrival the slip, G-41, was in fact a stern port side dock, the exact opposite of what I needed and requested. Not only was the slip the wrong type but on Friday pm, after a day of boating, I came back to the slip only to find another boat in my assigned slip. All of my lines, shore power cords and water hose were unceremoniously dumped in my dinghy. My dinghy was secured to the dock by wrapping one of my lines around the outboard tiller arm!!! Fortunately the marina staff were still working and informed me that the slip your staff had assigned me in May was now sold to a seasonal boater. I received no notification of this prior to returning to the marina on Friday. If we had returned after hours what would we have had to do? No slip and no recourse even though the slip was paid for!! The office staff finally after 2 hours, provided another slip which was once again a stern port side slip exactly opposite of my request again. All in all this was the most egregious customer service I have ever experienced in 30 years of boating. I have been a transient guest at your marina several times in the past due to the location and facilities. This trip was horrendous. You should investigate and counsel the Harbor Master that is supposed to be overseeing the marina and insuring a safe and enjoyable experience. I experienced quite the opposite. Raymond Purdy [email protected]

Marina Response:
Hello Raymond, thank you for taking time out of your day to write this review. We sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience staying here at Burnham harbor. It was our mistake that we did not update your slip assignment prior to your reservation, since it was assigned to a seasonal slip holder that week. While we try our best to accommodate everyone's requests, especially the specific docking and ties, we are almost at full capacity for slips 40ft and up. Because of this, we only have a few slips available and with additional requests and other reservations, it provides us with even less options to assign reservations to. Again, we apologize that you had a difficult time with our staff and that your experience was not better. Our harbor master has been notified of everything involving this situation. We hope you do consider coming back to Burnham in the future, and we will work with your specific requests to ensure you have a great vacation and reservation here.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport