Safe Harbor Glen Cove

47 Reviews
Write a Review
128 Shore Road
Glen Cove, NY 11542
40° 51' 21.51'', -73° 38' 45.47''
(931) 237-5825
VHF Ch. 9
$3.75/ft
shmarinas.com
Hempstead Harbor
Start Your Adventure
Safe Harbor Glen Cove
Safe Harbor Glen Cove
Safe Harbor Glen Cove
Safe Harbor Glen Cove
Safe Harbor Glen Cove
Safe Harbor Glen Cove
Fuel
Last Updated: Jul 08, 2024 11:44AM

Diesel $4.65

Brand: ValvTect

Gas Regular $5.25

Awards


Boaters Choice 2020Boaters Choice 2021Boaters Choice 2022Boaters Choice Elite Fleet 2023

About


Situated in a well-protected harbor on the famous “Gold Coast,” Safe Harbor Glen Cove shares coastline with nature preserves and the lavish mansions and gardens that are part of the area’s storied past. Enhanced with all the comforts of a resort club, the marina is moments for exceptional dining and cultural attractions.

Berth Capacity


Slips:650

Approach


The marina is on Hempstead Harbor on the north shore of Long Island just east of Execution Rocks. Head south into Hempstead Harbor and turn east at the two yellow buoys and continue thru the red /green in the mooring field and into the entrance of Glen Cove Creek. As you continue east you will see our fuel dock on your right. VHF Channel 9. / 73° 38'50" West.
Minimum Approach Depth:8.0 Feet
Minimum Channel Depth:8.0 Feet
Mean Low Water Dock Depth:0.0 Feet
Mean High Water Clearance:0.0 Feet

Services & Amenities

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2024

Fuel Dock:Yes
Gas:Yes
Diesel:Yes
Dockage:Yes
Water Hookup:Yes
Service & Maintenance:Yes
Dinghy Dock:Yes
Wi-Fi:Yes
Pump-out:Yes
Restrooms:Yes
Showers:Yes
Laundry:Yes
Trash:Yes
Ice:Yes
Security:Yes
Swimming Pool:Yes
Groceries:Within 5 Miles
Medical Facility:Within 5 Miles
Pharmacy:Within 5 Miles
Car Rentals:Within 5 Miles
Bike Rentals:Yes
Restaurants:Yes
Beach:Within 5 Miles
Golf:Within 5 Miles
Tennis:Within 5 Miles
Ship Store:Yes
Max. Vessel LOA:115.0 Feet
Max. Slip Length:115.0 Feet
Max. Slip Width:20.0 Feet
Floating Docks:Yes
Oil Disposal:Yes
Engine Service:Yes
Dry Stack:Yes
Land Storage:Yes
Travel Lift:Yes
Yacht Brokerage:Yes
Show All

Verified

Tom and staff are great !

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great full-service marina. We needed a place to stop to take on water and wash down the boat after a very salty passage. Safe Harbor Glen Cove was ideal. Tom the dock master was very friendly and very helpful. Would definitely consider stopping her in the future.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Very helpful marina crew. I was only there for a few hours to meet friends for lunch. Easy slip to get in and out of

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The far docks are a little old but apparently they're going to be replaced at some point but nice people Tom the boss was great , it was quiet and the showers and bathrooms were clean and nice

Marina Response:
Thanks for coming please come again
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Marina is well situated and easy to access transient slip. Docks in excellent shape. Bathrooms are spacious & very clean. Pool was closed? Some NY law? Laundry situation needs attention. One washer and one dryer not working. Office staff disgruntled and not helpful until the 3rd time we pleaded for assistance owing to the fact that she was running the fuel dock too? Dockmaster is very helpful & friendly. Good BBQ restaurant onsite.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Marina very well kept and good service . Marina helper very efficient and good job

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great management, great service, awesome restaurants, great people.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Great Marina! Managed by everyone there to very high standards. You can tell. Very friendly staff. Very convenient to points of interests by bicycle or Uber. I look forward to coming back!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We had a great stay. Our first time but definitely not the last time. Marina and facilities are well run and kept clean. Tom the dock master was very nice and helpful.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great facility great staff. Well protected. Just spent one night but would go back for more nights

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Marina and staff are great!!! What a cute little town to explore. Nice docks - especially with the large swing in tides. Special thanks to Paul and Tom. Our stay was very enjoyable.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Charged me for two nights and I only staid for one. Contacted them about the mistake and never heard back from them.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great service Nice Pool and super clean bathrooms. Excellent wifi connection

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The pool and facilities are very nice. Tom was very helpful in getting us in and out. We will definitely be back!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great marina!! Great service!!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Tom, the dockmaster was awesome!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great marina clean bathrooms and showers pool was great restaurant walking distance

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice staff, easy in and out clean facilities. I would stop there again.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great place for a quick overnight, easy in and out and spacious floating dock

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Responsive professional staff. Picked up quickly on channel 9.2 staff assisted with docking. Nice facility. Laura’s BQ Restaurant is excellent ( but a bit of walk from F dock)

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice Marina, very helpful staff and quiet waterway.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Kudos to Tom, the dockmaster. Professional and efficient.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Easy dockage. Good restaurant near by. Pleasant dock master. Clean bathrooms.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Long overdue review - Great stay with a super staff who are very friendly. Fun bar and quite a nice restaurant. Will return for sure.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Friendly staff, free coffee in the morning, beautiful pool.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Stay was delightful. Good accommodations and responsive staff.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Excellent facility. Clean bath house, great pool. Tom, the dockmaster was helpful and knows how to handle lines.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Good service. Not in a pretty neighborhood. WiFi better than other Safe Harbor marinas we have visited.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Very helpful dock staff. Diesel and pump-out on the same dock

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Super nice Dockmaster and nice location while being able to get access to NYC

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Tom is a great dock master! The location is nice and the restrooms are clean.

Marina Response:
Thankyou for the great review , Hope you enjoy the rest of the season .
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Super staff and sheltered marina. Good access to NYC yet safe. It’s our go-to marina in NY.

Marina Response:
Thank you for the great review please come again.
Was this helpful?  Yes(1) - NoReport
Verified

Staff was friendly.... had mechanical issue with boat upon arrival for a weekend stay. Mark, Paul and Andre were extremely helpful and boat was looked at and repair performed early Saturday morning. Fantastic level of service and we would stay at this marina again.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The facility was nice and clean but the Wifi was pretty much non existent unless you went to the parking lot. Not what I’ve experienced at most Safe Harbor facilities

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

There are no restaurants on the property. The only place to dine is The Cove which is at least a 15 minute walk from the furthest dock (C) where we were. The only food available, weekends only, is from a truck. There is a great space on site which WAS called The Lighthouse Cafe but it's been closed for a while. That should be remedied. We would have spent a lot of $ there. There is a nice pool but we didn't use it.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great staff. They were on the spot to help us tie up and provide local information.

Marina Response:
Thank you for coming hope to see you soon
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Excellent stay,great facilities! Dockmaster Tom was very attentive & an asset to safe harbor. We will return!

Marina Response:
Thank you for the great review , please come again .
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Good place to stop on LI Sound. Staff were helpful and friendly. Pool was nice. This marina is in a boatyard, so there's not a lot of grass but rather a huge gravel parking lot. Only real negative is the depth of the entrance channel. Other reviews have warned of this, and sure enough, at low tide we witnessed a sailboat run aground right in the channel. Since we were looking at it from his stern, it was impossible to tell the size, but most probably in the30's. Harbor police came quickly and pulled him off. We waited until the tide had come in at least halfway before leaving in the morning. If you come/go near low tide, favor the side of the channel away from the large steel bulkhead. We've been here before and won't hesitate to go back.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Dock hands pluged us into a bad pedestal and caused damage to the boat. Dock master knows about the bad pedestal but failed to tell the kids working the docks. When speaking with the dock master about my issue I got every excuse in the book and would not accept any responsibility! Plus the entrance to the marina sholes up to 3ft. During low tide. Everyone knows about this but they don't tell you when you come in and why the heck don't they dredge it !

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

As a starting point for cruising the New York City area, this marina is perfect. Although we did not get to use any of the amenities, we can state that the Dockmaster is very attentive and helpful. The facilities are well kept. We look forward to a longer stay the next time we are in the area. Beaches and fishing close by.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

The yard looks like a "work yard". A crane has been in the yard for over a year now. The docks are full of boats "for sale" from the broker on site. Work boats come and go, not working at the marina. The docks are not great although they are quick to make repairs. Everything else about the place looks unfinished.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that you have an unfavorable opinion of Glen Cove Yacht Yard. We are a working boatyard, but we also strive to make sure that our slip Members and guests have an enjoyable marina facility. The crane will be used for future bulkhead work so it is still needed on-site at this time. We are happy to speak with you more regarding your experiences at our marina. Feel free to reach out to our office at your convenience 516.671.5563. Take care.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The accommodations were average. The staff was a little confused about where our slip assigned would be in ultimately put in a slip that I was only 30 amp versus 50 up as requested. As a result we had some issues with our auto pilot re-starting. This caused a great deal of stress and frustration for us. There are several areas within the yacht Yard. Unfortunately we were place was not one of the better ones. Please verify that we were charge for only Two nights..

Marina Response:
Hello. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. It sounds like you have already spoken with our Fuel Dockmaster, Tom, who verified that you were only charged for two nights. We apologize for the limited slip availability during your visit. The marina was very full of both our seasonal Members and transient guests. We do hope that you will consider visiting Glen Cove Yacht Yard next time you are in the area, and we will be happy to find your a more ideal slip for your vessel. Take care!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great staff. Very friendly. Would be nice if there was a cafe.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your review and feedback. A cafe wold be nice. We appreciate you choosing Glen Cove and hope to see you again in the future. Happy boating!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Tom, the Dockmaster, does an excellent job with what he has to work with. Unfortunately, this marina needs a lot of work. Their transient dock and the electrical service need to be replaced. Also, the odors from the town sewage treatment plant is something the town should address. This is too bad because the marina is in a nice location, fully protected, full service with onsite amenities.

Marina Response:
Thank you for staying with us at Glen Cove, and we appreciate your feedback. We have some planned upgrades for the property, and we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you for your business. Have a great summer on the water!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Old docks, brackish water, sewer plant nearby. Staff very helpful nonetheless, made up for the shortcomings.

Marina Response:
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we are happy that you found our staff helpful. Please consider staying with us again in the future as we are working to upgrade the facilities.
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Great stay, friendly staff, fun bar, great restaurant, nice pool

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

On the plus side: Nice, friendly and helpful folks; clean, nice facility. On the minus, depth in the channel (not their fault, obviously!) and no WiFi.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport