City of Paducah Transient Docks

70 Reviews
Claimed
Write a Review
Book Reservation
500 North Riverfront
Paducah, KY 42001
37° 5' 34.21'', -88° 35' 50.75''
270-538-9849
www.paducahky.gov
City of Paducah Transient Docks
City of Paducah Transient Docks
City of Paducah Transient Docks
City of Paducah Transient Docks
City of Paducah Transient Docks
Windy tomorrow evening.
60℉ESE at 5 knots
Fuel
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2021

Diesel$4.05
Gas Regular$4.49
You might also consider...

Whether you're an overnight guest, or a local resident, Waukegan Harbor can s... Read More

2 Reviews
Anchors Marina is conveniently located on Highway 44 on Lake Oconee. The Dry ... Read More

If you are looking for low rates, you may be interested in Sprague Pointe Mar... Read More

Awards


About


Effective May 7, 2021 The Transient Dock is now open.

The City of Paducah's new Transient Docks are a brand new installation on Paducah's riverfront.

The next generation is really why we're here today... The riverfront is the one common neighborhood for everyone in this area. The one neighborhood that everyone shares is the river, because afterall, that is how Paducah got here.

The great old river is replete with history of the United States of America. I want to help the community enhance the river experience so that this common neighborhood that everyone has will be a place to go and enjoy yourself for years and years to come.

Effective December 31, 2020 rates will go to $1.25 per foot

-- U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell (August 28, 2006 on Paducah's Riverfront)

Berth Capacity


Slips:10

Approach


Transient boaters are advised that a downtown shoal exists. To avoid grounding vessels are to approach the dock perpendicular from the navigation channel.

Services & Amenities

Last Updated: Apr 08, 2020

Dockage:Yes
Fuel Dock:Yes
Water Hookup:Yes
Pump-out:Yes
Boat Ramp:Nearby
Gas:Yes
Diesel:Yes
Hotels:Nearby
Restaurants:Nearby
Show All

John and Adam work really hard at making it comfortable and safe for boats to come in. They are accommodating in meeting boaters needs and go out of their way to be helpful. They both have great personalities and treat everyone as family. They are what makes it great there. We were at the dock for 9 days and they helped to make every one enjoyable!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The dock masters John and Adam were exceptional! John offered to come back to the dock after going home to assist us with docking. Had an issue with the diesel pump not working and it may delay us leaving.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

It is well run a clean facility... the Fuel Pumps were chronically troubled by timing out... but all in all it was a great stay in a lovely community and we will be back either by boat or by car... Pump out services were without issue, power supply was good as was the water pressure...

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Very nice dock and close to everything but for the price I was really surprised there are no bathrooms, showers and Wi-Fi that really doesn’t work on the dock. Also, the fuel pumps aren’t working which can be a huge problem for some.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Wonderful docks, wonderful town, lots to see and do. Nice restaurants. Wish we could stay longer! City employees Adam and John took very good care of us. Thank you, Paducah!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

This was a welcome respite coming off the Ohio. John, the dock master will go way beyond expectations to accommodate virtually any need or request. Easy on and off the river with first class facilities. The docks are literally steps away from the incredible lower town area of Paducah. With so much to see and do in a historic district this should be considered as a multi-day stop.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

We were greeted and assisted at the dock by John. It was like we were old friends. The facility is great and the town welcoming. Each day here the staff worked with us and others to make room for the next to arrive. In the height of the Looper season they are ready for us. Thank you!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful new docks (Five years old) Diesel and gas fuel; full hook ups. Nice short walk into town with Shops, restaurants, bakeries.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great stop, we enjoyed the beautiful City of Paducah and had lots of fun there.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Paducah Marina is a great stop! The town is steps away with wonderful places to eat, (try Doe’s meatball sub and the scones and cinnamon rolls from the bakery!), historic places (quilt museum and train museum), and the local brewery is a must. But what really makes it such a great stop is John….the most wonderful person ever at the marina. He goes above and beyond to make sure your every need is met while in Paducah. You have one more member of your family when he’s there! The dock itself is new, clean, extra wide, and a great place to spontaneously gather with other boaters in the evening. Highly recommend this stop!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We enjoyed our stay .

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great location with respect to access to restaurants and museums. We sure wish a small market that sold a few groceries would open downtown. It would benefit tourists as well as locals who live/rent in the downtown area. Dock staff were friendly and helpful!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Paducah is a great stop! Wonderful staff (John is amazing), very nice city (restaurants, museums, brewery, distilleries, etc), pumpout and fuel available. Only thing missing is restrooms and showers.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Lovely stay in Paducah! Very clean, new docks, with electric and water. Staff was helpful in getting reservations. The town of Paducah is a treasure with restaurants and shops within walking distance. I would have given a better review had there been restroom facilities at the docks. Otherwise, this was a wonderful place to stay.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Paducah is a great, historic city and we really enjoyed exploring the downtown. The quilt museum is a must see! The marina is a short walk into town. There is no Marina office on sight and you have to call to get help at the dock, there is rarely any marina staff on the dock. We stayed there 3 nights and checked the day before we left to see if we could get a pump out the morning of departure and they said we could. When we tried to get our pump out, we found out there was no electricity. One of the other boaters told us they had been notified of the planned outage, but no one told the rest of the boaters on the dock ( and apparently not the employee that told us otherwise). There are no bathrooms or laundry facilities. It was windy during our stay and several times boats on the outside wall pulled into the gas dock during the night because the rocking was so bad.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The marina crew was excellent. Easy walking access to good food. Free wifi was OK. First night we were on the river side and got bounced pretty good by the passing barges but it quieted down by 11 PM and we moved to the inside for the second night and it was a lot smoother. Overall very nice stay.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Close to town. Excellent dock. Good electricity and water. Surprisingly calm and minimal current considering the exposure. Fuel and pump out, but no bathroom or other facilities.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great place right by town so walking distance to lots! And fun town! I'm NOT a quilter so to hear so many people talk about the Quilt Museum was kind of a "yeah whatever" for me -- but it really was amazing art!! We actually spent a couple hours there! Great little distillery with samples (Silent Brigade Distillery) with amazingly knowledgeable and fun bartender! The murals are amazing...and axe throwing? Who knew! But great food (particularly the salads!) at Paducah Axe...on a lovely patio, so no, not in the line of the axes! Well worth the stop. I will say that we were outside on the marina so VERY rolly in the wind. And no restroom or other amenities.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Loved the docks and the town. Would be a 5 with bathrooms.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

John, the dockmaster was very nice and helpful. The walk to town was short and the historic town of Paducah was pretty cool. I loved the Golden Carrot, if you are into health food supplements and oils, it's a great place to visit. The 505 coffee shop was a neat place and the raven latte was yummy. It was a great stop!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Close to town. Town is very nice with lots to do!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We really enjoyed our stay at the city dock. Adam was extremely helpful and guided us in.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Very nice docks. Short walk to downtown and good food

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

We had a great time last weekend on your new transient dock and in downtown Paducah. A very professional staff greeting us when we arrived!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice new docks and location is great for shops and restraints. Diesel fuel lines barely reach my port fill while tied starboard side directly across from pump. also, pump out line didn't reach my Port side. this is a public dock with people walking by every 20 minutes looking into your boat. the worst part was the people bow fishing on the dock next to my boat. don't feel safe at this location being the only boat on the dock.

Marina Response:
Mr. Fakler, Thank you for your feedback. Many of our boaters dock, visit our downtown, then return to their boat for departure or their overnight stay. We have never had any reports of trespassing or vandalism to any boats. If a boater ever feels unsafe they should call the police. We apologize for the experience you had while visiting the Transient Boat Dock in Paducah. One of the great, crowd pleasing things about our boat dock is it's distance to downtown dining and shopping. The dock is also located in a park. Those 2 features make our dock a destination for river traffic as well as pedestrian traffic. Fueling and pump out is meant to be done on the southwest side of the dock and line lengths accommodate that distance. I will be sure to let our staff who assist with these items relay those messages to our boaters so that this process improves in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback. We will continue to work toward making our dock a premier place to visit. Amie Clark, Director
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Very nice wide dock. Good connections for power and water. Easy access to town and excellent National Quilt Museum. Ticket good for whole day so can go out for lunch and return. Amazing exhibits! Don't miss it. We will return on our way south to see what is showing then.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

This is a great place to stay and visit downtown Paducah. Al and John, who work for the city, are both very helpful and welcoming.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Overall a nice stop... restrooms aside, along with some shallow approaches, all was good.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice clean dock with a great river walk and easy downtown access to shops, restaurants, and a terrific bakery. Our group had a tough time finding it after dark, though, as it’s not mapped well on the website, Google Maps, or the newest Garmin charts. We were warned of shoaling downstream, so approached cautiously and did OK. We nearly tangled with fishing nets on the upstream approach, though, too. Once tied up, things were better. One of the 30 amp power outlets was loose and was outputting 70 volts; plenty of nearby alternatives made that easy to manage. Overall, we enjoyed Paducah and will be back — in the daylight and armed with this first experience.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Outstanding facility and terrific service. The reservation process and feedback was prompt. John’s attention to details and friendly service was outstanding. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The Paducah transient dock is a really nice, newer facility with floating docks, gas & diesel & pump-out services. The best part, however, are the city employees who greet you & assist in getting you tied up & settled in. This is not a marina with further services but serves as a top-notch stop & gateway to a charming city.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Beautiful dock!!! Adorable town. Worth a visit for sure!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Jones was an excellent host, and waited for us a while after closing, in order to make sure we arrived safely. Paducah is a lovely town, within a few blocks walk. Safe and secure- excellent facility and staff!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Super helpful guiding us in and getting us tied up. Docks are in great shape. Plenty of depth for our sailboat.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Great town docks. Docks and staff are excellent. Lots to do and see within walking distance. The only ding, is no bathroom facilities.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

New docks are awesome except a little trickey getting into the back side. Bathrooms were too far away so we didn't see them. Wifi poor.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Jay and the rest of the dock staff were excellent.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice floating docks, fuel, electric, & pump out and reasonable price. 10 minute walk into town with several good restaurants and bars. No marina office or other amenities. City employees come down to docks. Very friendly.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Nice stop in a cute town

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

John and his group did a great job! A real asset to the Paducah community!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

John, Jay, & Blaine, were the most helpful Dock personnel we have experienced in 4,000 miles. They were always available and would accommodate every request/need we had great job guys!!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We only stayed 1 night but throughly enjoyed it. We were a late arriver but we were welcomed by everyone else staying on the dock. The next morning we took a short walk into town where the farmers market was going on. We also enjoyed breakfast at the Gold Rush Cafe. The dock hands were very helpful. They made sure to accommodate as many people as possible. We will be back since this is close to home.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The employees were friendly and even drove us to the grocery store and back. Love the town. Worth a stop

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Water being turned off but they didcall me to advise

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

New dock, no current on the inside, easy walk to restaurants, fuel and free pump out available till 4:00 pm.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Beautiful dock and the dock guy that helped us dock was very nice! Easy reservations. A little wakey but had to expect that being right on the River. Great location to the downtown area which we enjoyed very much! Would have given 5 stars has there been restroom facilities. Will definitely use again if we are back in the area!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Coming through in 2015, I couldn't understand why Paducah had no facilities for cruisers. This has now been wonderfully resolved with the new docks. I hope the town reaps the benefits from all the cruisers that stop by. I grocery shopped and had dinner in town so hope I helped the economy in some small way. The docks are a superb piece of engineering and built at considerable cost. We appreciate the town's foresight.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The marina is a new town dock with capacity for several boats. Diesel fuel available (maybe gas too). New pump-out. Some minor wake from passing barges, but not too much. Stay on the inside of the dock if possible. No security, but it's not really needed here. Paducah is a great town and well worth an extra day. The Lower Town Arts District has great restaurants and shops. Really atmospheric.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Three reasons for a high rating: 1. This dock put this section of the Loop within reach for my small boat without carrying extra fuel. 2. Jaylon, the dock attendant was as helpful as could be and always had a smile. I attempted to tip him and he refused, saying it is not City policy. 3. It is first marina I encountered in many stops that carried ethanol-free Rec-90.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great marina with floating docks, great power, and an easy walk into downtown for shops, museums, and restaurants. Highly recommended.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The docks and dock master were excellent. He was very busy, professional and functional. He would greatly benefit to have a vhf radio to give docking direction instead of yelling

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Jon the dock attendant was great!!!! Very willing to help you. The problem they over book the dock all three nights which created a mess having to raft boats and boats taking the space on fuel dock. Of course there were unhappy boats with this but Jon rear is probably still sore but he did what he could to make it a pleasant stay. And Jon did not take the reservation.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Jon the dockmaster was superb. Only real snag at Paducah was that we found the wifi to be unusable. Couldn't log in.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Would suggest a full time dock master.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Paducah has a hice facility and Jon does his best to "tighten-up" the transients to get everyone in. However, they overbooked the night we arrived late, requiring a raft-up in the dark in adverse current. Anecdotally, this is occuring regularly this season. I believe that it's bad form to confirm a reservation and then re-sell that space for the same nite.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Top notch facility. Could use staff in afternoon to facilitate/organize docking.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great new docks with self serve fuel and pump out. Very convenient to a very nice small town with several good restaurants

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Docks are an engineering marvel. 18 pilings, 3ft diameter 50ft high with a 300ft stainless steel ramp to the Riverside Park. No amenities, but brand new pedestals 30 & 50 Amp and water. Valvtect fuel. Right in Downtown. Best stop since Chicago. Although they do not have an office, they do respond by telephone and will be there to meet you.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Fantastic Dock that we will visit again and again. Within walking distance of the downtown with plenty to see and do! Re Stu rants and downtown merchants are many and the River Wall art and The Quilt Museum with the Ohio river are fun things to see. Thanks Paducah!!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Dock is nice, They have fuel, but no Wifi and no showers or bathrooms. The town is nice.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

This is a very nice transient dock, but good luck getting someone to answer the phone to come and provide fuel. We made reservations and docked in Paducah the weekend of June 29 - July 1, 2018. The website says fuel available 8:30 a.m to 5:00 p.m. seven days a week by calling a telephone number provided. However, I called the number all day Saturday and half the day Sunday and never got any answer. It was the weekend before the Fourth of July, and we never saw a single person affiliated with the dock, thus we had to pull out to go get fuel. Additionally, I paid for electric in my reservation, but because I could not reach anyone, I never used the electric. Maybe I was just expected to help myself to it, but I did not feel comfortable doing that without express instructions. Thus, I never used any electric for which I paid. Overall, the dock is physically wonderful and is a super addition to downtown Paducah, but don't rely upon it for fuel or any type of human assistance.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

We arrived in the dark after Lock 52. Easy in and out. New docks and pedestals with electric and water. Fuel and pump out available by arrangement, contact information clearly posted. Easy walk in to town. Very helpful staff came by to check on us and answer questions/provide local information/suggestions. No washrooms, showers or laundry.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

It was very very nice. We are from Kentucky Lake and couldn't wait for the marina to open so we could visit someplace local. Its differently an asset to the downtown community. Job well done.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great location,great people, wonderful dock. Needs bathrooms and showers. Until they build their own they should consider partnering with the Holiday Inn to provide access to their facilities for a small charge. Hotels in Oswego, NY provide this service and is well received by the boaters.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Lovely dock and staff

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

This is a transient dock, not a marina, so my ranking reflects that. Also it has only been open a week or so. The new dock is lovely and has both 50 and 30 amp power and water. They sell diesel and gas and have a pump out facility. The two guys who were running things were extremely helpful and great ambassadors for Paducah. When we were here the BBQ on the River festival was on, lots of food and live music! Also the National Quilt Museum is a block away. We loved our short stay in Paducah! There were some interested locals visiting the dock (it is open to the public) but there was a security person on the dock in the evening. What is lacking: the staff need portable VHF radios! A nearby place to buy ice and some basic groceries.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

The facility is spot on, but there is no one on site to assist with docking. There are no assigned slips. They overbooked the marina the two nights we had reservations so many boats had to raft out and getting power to all the boats was a hassle. Maybe after a while they will figure out how to operate this facility, but for now expect problems.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great facility in which we could tie up to either side of the dock. Beautiful downtown area within a couple of blocks from the dock with many great restaurants (some with live music), and cute shops. The town has cab and Lift services to stock up supplies from Wal-Mart or a local grocery store. We also enjoyed the 4 mile bike path just a couple blocks from the city dock. Could have stayed another day to take in the many museums. What a GREAT stop!!!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

Great Faclity!! They really have a 1st class dock

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
Verified

the city is great but the docks have new construction issues , the city parks employees are the best.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport