Gloucester Harbormaster

54 Reviews
Claimed
Write a Review
Book Reservation
19 Harbor Loop
Gloucester, MA 01930
42° 36' 38.42'', -70° 39' 30.58''
monitor.excavation.audible
978-282-3012
VHF Ch. 14
www.gloucester-ma.gov
Gloucester Harbor
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Gloucester Harbormaster
Mostly cloudy until tomorrow morning and windy starting this evening, continuing until tomorrow afternoon.
49℉NW at 15 knots
High02:50AM8.209ft
Low08:42AM1.600ft
High02:57PM8.842ft
Low09:18PM0.829ft
You might also consider...

Kingman Yacht Center is Cape Cod's largest full-service marina. Nestled in sc... Read More

Shattemuc Yacht Club is beautifully situated on the banks of the magnificent ... Read More

Hyannis Marina is your gateway to the beautiful waters of Cape Cod, Nantucket... Read More

Awards


About


The City of Gloucester, through the harbormaster's office, rents 30 transient / visitor moorings for vessels up to 60 feet. They are located in the following three areas:

-The Inner Harbor, where the day-to-day hustle and bustle of a working waterfront can be enjoyed, is in close proximity to downtown shops and restaurants.

-The Southeast Harbor offers views of the mansions of Eastern Point, sunsets over the Western Harbor and the Boston skyline in the distance.

-The Western Harbor, off of Stage Head, is where the original settlers landed and dried fish. The harbor offers a beautiful view of downtown church steeples and the City Hall tower.

The Gloucester Harbor Launch is free of charge with your reservation and can be contacted on VHF channel 72 or by phone - 978-726-0155

Services & Amenities

Last Updated: Aug 10, 2017

Moorings:Yes
Maintenance Facility:Yes
Water Taxi:Yes
Wi-Fi:Yes
Pump-out:Yes
Ice:Yes
Boat Ramp:Yes
Groceries:Nearby
Medical Facility:Nearby
Hotels:Nearby
Restaurants:Nearby
Max. Vessel LOA:60.0 Feet
Floating Docks:Yes
Show All

bunkyreedOct 11, 2018
Verified

First, Gloucester is wonderful harbor and is very well protected. Before the trip I called the Harbormaster and confirmed the launch service was running on Columbus Day and that moorings would be available. He was very informative especially since it was our first time sailing into Gloucester. When we arrived, we had an Inner Harbor mooring as requested and by radio he directed us right to #8. Perfect. Only wish we had an extra day up there. Definitely will be a repeat visit. Thanks!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
shiookSep 30, 2018
Verified

Great place. Good launch service.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
laurelafordSep 24, 2018
Verified

The Gloucester Harbormaster was very accommodating. We made our reservation late and wanted a specific mooring. Very friendly and helpful.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
cruisingcarolSep 22, 2018
Verified

Very difficult to reach harbormaster by radio and/or phone. Two attempts to extend our reservation via the Dockwa edit function (as instructed by the harbormaster) were never received and we were forced to leave our mooring. Thankfully the wind has turned otherwise this would not only have been very inconvenient but downright unpleasant.

Marina Response:
We are very sorry for this . We had a fair amount of technical problems in our office this weekend phone lines down and internet . I would like to offer you a free mooring services next time you visit our port . You can contact me directly [email protected]
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
thachphamSep 16, 2018
Verified

Nice Mooring at Niles Beach

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
brendamiccioSep 09, 2018
Verified

Very good. Harbormaster staff was excellent

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
pemisu12Sep 09, 2018
Verified

Good mooring in inner harbor. Excellent service.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
lestrSep 06, 2018
Verified

Gloucester is always a great town to visit. Having launch service is a great addition and has us visiting more often that in the past years. This year they have added pick up buoys on the mooring pennants making the process much easier. Gloucester just keeps getting better.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
hondo79Sep 03, 2018
Verified

Great weekend, Harbormaster staff was friendly and get help from the launch operators to the HM. Always enjoy our visits to Gloucester.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
isabellaAug 28, 2018
Verified

Third time morning in Gloucester. Better every year. Moorings well marked with pickup masts, launch service included and prompt and will take you anywhere in the harbor Restaurants and services short walk from landing.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
jamesforsyth01Aug 25, 2018
Verified

Nice mooring, the harbor master answered right away and directed us to the mooring. The launch service was excellent. Good restraunts.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
jgermenisAug 19, 2018
Verified

Very friendly and helpful staff. Dinner at Gloucester House was excellent. Do sit inside.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
masterboaterAug 14, 2018

WOW what a place . Harbormaster and Deputy Harbormaster are amazing . This is a Must Stop if you are transiting the East Coast . Whoever Gave a one star review is a moron

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
chiefboatsAug 14, 2018

Great Harbor the Harbormasters office is very helpful and the launch is a great service that is included with your stay the drivers are very helpful with area knowledge. I will be back

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
hmscarthAug 12, 2018
Verified

We spent the first afternoon and night on mooring #1 in the Ten Pound Island group. The wash from the traffic was terrible. My camera rolled off a setee. My wife was seasick. We went to shore for a while. The wash didn't settle down until late. We arranged with the harbor master to move to the inner harbor for our second night, mooring #4. It was much better. The harbor launch was OK but busy. Be sure to tell the operator which group of moorings you are in. There is more than one #1, etc.

Marina Response:
We are sorry to hear you had a bad stay . I'm glad our team accommodated you on your second night . Unfortunate you were here on a very busy weekend. Please remember this is a working harbor. We hope you come back and give us another try
Was this helpful?  Yes - No(1)Report
ejjawhiteAug 11, 2018
Verified

We were real happy with the professionalism and treatment received by the Harbormaster and launch drivers. While there we were able to extend our stay by 2 days. There’s lots to see and do in Gloucester/Cape Ann, and we plan on returning, hopefully with another couple of boats to accompany us.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
windlessAug 10, 2018
Verified

Tom the harbor master and team are always terrific. On a packed holiday weekend with high winds we were accomodated. We pass this way many times a season from Cape Cod to Maine and the team is always great. Al Santoro

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
lindabunceAug 05, 2018
Verified

Cape Ann Marina was great. We got lucky and they were able to accommodate us at the last minute for the weekend. We had Patton assist us with our slip, two weekends in a row and he was very professional and great to work with. Thank you..

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
haighrw1Aug 02, 2018
Verified

Always a great location to stay at.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
sparetimeAug 02, 2018
Verified

Launch delivered directly to a restaurant dock and picked us up when we were ready to go back to the boat

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
fhmorrisbvpJul 30, 2018
Verified

great location off park, solid mooring.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
jeffkmacJul 22, 2018
Verified

Excellent mooring field - great launch service but moorings are extremely difficult to identify. The numbers are etched on top of the mooring that you cannot read until you are practically on top of it.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
risailorgirlJul 22, 2018
Verified

We stayed in Smith Cove on a very secure mooring. The Harbormaster and staff we very friendly, gave us a welcome package and answered any question we had. They even offer boatside pumpout service. Downtown was very nice to stroll through and the harbor is beautiful! We can’t wait to come back!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
bstaymoreJul 22, 2018
Verified

Nice mooring. Good launch service. N wakes on the inner harbor.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
sdecoste63Jul 19, 2018
Verified

The harbormaster put the SC2 mooring in the path of the local fisherman as they came within 2 to 3 feet of our boat on a consistent basis to make it uncomfortable 24x7. The Harbormaster needs to either move the mooring or get the locals to stop buzzing the SC2 mooring.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
cdavispearceJul 16, 2018
Verified

Gloucester is a great, friendly place to stay. Good access to wonderful restraints,museums and shopping within walking distance. Excellent launch device and hours at a reasonable price

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
dianab54Jul 15, 2018
Verified

Excellent Harbor, extremely responsive harbormaster. Only things I would like to see are an online mooring map (it was difficult to locate our mooring), also it would be awesome if there were shower facilities available.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
jkrusasJul 12, 2018
Verified

We stayed on a mooring. It was very pleasnt. Thank You!

Marina Response:
Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again !!
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
tedestepJul 12, 2018
Verified

Stayed in inter harbor. Traffic was not bad. Launch service was great. Morrings are solid and well serviced. Very nice place will stop again.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
georgemJul 10, 2018
Verified

One of our favorite harbors . Arrived just after noon,, our Mooring was ready to go , we tied up , no issues. We checked in with the harbormaster and then called the launch for a ride into town.....everyone was friendly and asked if they help with suggestions of where to go etc. great place to stop for a couple of days .

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
rstrick1901Jul 10, 2018
Verified

We really had a good time. The harbormaster and crew were helpful and the town is awesome. Had the best dinner at the Seaport Grill and enjoyed walking the town.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
skimmer352Jul 07, 2018
Verified

Harbormaster was wonderful, very helpful. It was choppy due to weather, we were in puter harbor and did fine.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
poconnor2Jul 03, 2018
Verified

It was very uncomfortable at Stage mooring in Gloucester. At one point I thought the dinghy was going to land in the cockpit. The harbormaster told us about the launch service but never mentioned that the boat was going to rock nonstop.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
gagnon79Jul 03, 2018
Verified

nice but lot of boat traffic rock rock rock

Marina Response:
Unfortunately this past weekend was fiesta here in Gloucester our busiest weekend of the year concerning boat traffic. Hope to see you again in our port ... Regards
Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
packs6Jul 02, 2018
Verified

The Gloucester crew are super nice guys - there to help in any way. Great tender service too!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
stephaniebeermannOct 18, 2017
Verified

Gloucester Harbor was great with good amenities and fun waterfront restaurants. The harbormaster upgrades our mooring due to a cancellation which was awesome and appreciated!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
rameletAug 28, 2017
Verified

No Showers but free launch

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
vickiAug 28, 2017
Verified

We would have given it a five but we got stuck Saturday night at 9:30 pm and could not get back to our boat as the launch driver took off early. This was a huge problem - otherwise the service was very good and the moorings were very well maintained. Getting stuck though at 9:30 pm without a way to get back to your boat is a HUGE PROBLEM!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
billtAug 12, 2017
Verified

Super launch service. Cute town and good restaurants. We will be back.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
scottnbptAug 08, 2017
Verified

The shuttle service was quick and reliable the shuttle captains could not be any more pleasant and helpful. Looking forward to a return visit.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
patriotAug 04, 2017
Verified

We rented a mooring two nights so far this season on our trip to Maine using Dockwa. I like how the reservation confirmation includes providing a mooring number. It would be a little better if there was a better way of showing where the moorings are located and how to identify them. On our second visit (July 22), I figured mooring TP-3 was located in the Ten Pound mooring area. When arriving in the area, I had to ask another boater which moorings belonged to the city. It turned out that they were orange and all were taken. I called the Harbormaster and received a prompt response. The person on duty was very helpful and courteous. Unfortunately, he had to move another boater who was confused on where his mooring was located. The other boat moved to another mooring field and we were all set, until the next morning. There was a lobster pot located near our assigned mooring. The next morning, with the change in tide, current and wind, our boat drifted over the pot and I could not see it. We caught the line to the pot’s float on our rudder and ended up having to cut the line. The boat was freed but I did not see the float until later. When operating my boat, I take particular care in avoiding lobster pots. They are someone’s livelihood and I respect that. Unfortunately, in this case, the person who place the pot in the middle of a mooring field, did not appear very concerned about respecting other boats. It took some doing to totally free the line from my rudder and I ended up having to dive on my boat. Perhaps it is within the Harbormaster’s authority to ensure that lobster pots are not placed within a mooring field. It is difficult for a boat to avoid them in this situation.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
markjyoungJul 31, 2017
Verified

It was very nice staying in the inner harbor in Gloucester. It is well protected from the weather and now that they have a launch to get back and forth from the dock, a dingy is not required. It would be ideal if they had shower facilities.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
will40Jul 25, 2017
Verified

Stayed on mooring SC 2 for two nights. Very helpful and friendly harbor master and launch boat captain. Will go back again.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
mihajlvJul 24, 2017
Verified

Excellent.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
alwiner1Jul 18, 2017
Verified

The harbor masters are so friendly and the launch is a great addition. People are always being treated first class

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
riaJul 17, 2017
Verified

First rate moorings & terrific launch service to multiple points in Town. The launch operators are true professionals - courteous, friendly, knowledgable and true advocates of Gloucester. We are too. Great harbor, wonderful vessel watching, variety of restaurants & shops. Gloucester and Harbormaster are 1st rate. "Way To Go" will be back!

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
hmsindyJul 10, 2017
Verified

Great mooring in the inner harbor. Very industrial though and a little noisy. Would go back.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
tfinJul 07, 2017
Verified

We have been here before. Now launch service is included. That makes it easy to get ashore with laundry. Laundromat is not far from launch landing. The weather on this stay was the best ever. We must return and explore the wonders of Gloucester.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
jtdunn21nJul 07, 2017
Verified

Very basic amenities but easy ocean access and inner harbor mooring allow quick downtown access also. Launch service is included however they service the entire harbor which is large so plan ahead.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
jackt323Jul 06, 2017
Verified

It was a very quiet stay.Not much going on after the fireworks.I guess I was expecting more festivities for July 4th week.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
mzimet73Jun 26, 2017
Verified

A wonderful visit in a beautiful city. Unfortunately, we were there at a very busy time so our mooring was pretty far out in the Southeast Harbor. Great mooring and wonderful launch service! We will be back soon.

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
cgklinck892Jun 10, 2017
Verified

Very informative launch captains. Prompt service. Enjoyed the town of Gloucester very much. Found the people to be very receptive. The mooring was in great shape and it was comfortable in the harbor. Definitely, you will see us again. Thanks

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport
nanbl55May 22, 2017
Verified

Great place to stay and the harbormaster is so nice

Was this helpful?  Yes - NoReport